Eva James Award

Each year since 1999, the WOCRC has honoured one of our dedicated volunteers with the Eva James Award.

About the Eva James Award

The Eva James Award was designed to recognize a volunteer who best personifies the commitment and dedication exemplified by Eva James, a devoted, active woman who enthusiastically volunteered in our community for over 15 years. She passed away suddenly in 1995.

Eva was one of the key volunteers who helped to form and implement our community resource centre. She was a strong supporter of the Kanata Food Cupboard and devoted a lot of her time to helping them.

Eva seldom missed an opportunity to attend community events such as the Girl Guide Spring Tea or Canada Day celebrations in Kanata and Bridlewood.

In her capacity as City Councillor, in addition to her many volunteer endeavours, Eva seized every opportunity to enhance our community.

She was involved with the OC Transpo committee, establishing park areas, fighting for street intersections and safety among many other projects – big and small.

Lise Dorey, 2018-2019 Eva James Award Recipient

Lise is a volunteer with our Kanata Diners Program. She has been volunteering with us since 2009. Lise’s infectious positive attitude, love of life, and care for others in her community, is apparent through her ongoing support of the program. She is admired and greatly appreciated by all volunteers and clients. She has strong leadership and problem solving skills. Lise is instrumental to the success of the Diner’s program. There is no task too big or too small that Lise is not willing to tackle. Lise has a tender heart and always takes the time to make everyone’s experience enjoyable. She is happy to offer a shoulder, a hug and a moment of her time to anyone in need.

Thomas Clifford, 2018-2019 Eva James Award Recipient

Tom is a volunteer with our Stittsville Diners Program and delivers meals on wheels to people in the community. He has been volunteering with us since 2009. No matter what role Tom is filling as a volunteer, he always goes above and beyond to ensure that the clients have the best service experience so that they stay healthy and happy in their homes for as long as possible. He always makes sure the client’s needs are met by taking the time to listen and observe and to follow up. He never falters in his commitment to our clients. Tom is a dependable and responsible volunteer who never waivers in his commitment to provide outstanding service in any of his roles within the CSS team.

All Eva James Award Winners

The following volunteers have been honoured with the Eva James Award:

  • 2018-2019 Lise Dorey and Thomas Clifford
  • 2017-2018 Phyllis Powell
  • 2016-2017 Richard Greene and Bob Hurry
  • 2015-2016 Ruth Willsher
  • 2014-2015 Atif Malam
  • 2013-2014 Robert McGaraughty
  • 2012-2013 Anne Marie Goodman
  • 2011-2012 Brigitte Sharma
  • 2010-2011 Doreen Reynolds
  • 2009-2010 Terry Longhorn
  • 2008-2009 Leona Spencer
  • 2007-2008 Jean-Pierre Beaulne
  • 2006-2007 Bruce Cairns
  • 2005-2006 Judy Bowyer
  • 2004-2005 J. Warner Eakins
  • 2003-2004 Dave Anderson
  • 2002-2003 Minoo Taherzadeh
  • 2001-2002 Kerri Bjornson
  • 2000-2001 Mary Nute
  • 1999-2000 Trudy Muller
  • 1998-1999 Dee Campbell
Thank you to all our volunteers for making an outstanding contribution to the WOCRC and enhancing our community!